Author Topic: FlatOut Modding - Where should I start?  (Read 743 times)

VajkLaszlo

Hey! I'm new to modding and new to this forum, also, my english is bad... I'm from Hungary, just about to learn english... :D

I want to make some mods to the game, but I don't really know where to start... Maybe want to add a new car to the game, which I will make in 3DSMax, but what is the format of the cars in-game? What should I do with my model? In what to convert?

So yeah, I don't really know where should I start... Also, I want to translate the game. Which files do I need to edit?

And maybe later make a new track, new textures, new skins or so...

I don't really know what programmes should I use... 3DSMax, I got a .bfs packer & unpacker, but what else (also got Notepad ofc)?

The Very End

Hello! It is a bit hard saying exactly what you need and should have, as most things have alternatives and depends on what you are creating.

For general moding I would check the modding section for information and study the example mod folder within Wreckfest main folder. As for program to use both Blender and 3Ds Max works, and depends what you like. The good thing with max is easier xref/linking scenes together than Blender, men when starting xref'ing is  not something you should start with.

Which brings me to next part, maybe start smaller? Cars are really a lot of nitty gritty details and data work, which is much easier when you have some modding experience with Wreckfest. Not to discouraged you, I'm just trying to save you for a lot of frustration.

So where to start then? Maybe try making some objects, small tracks/arenas or something? The learning curve is pretty hard, and again, depending on what you do you can utilize and must utilize a range of programs.

Best of luck with the projects :)

VajkLaszlo

Hello! It is a bit hard saying exactly what you need and should have, as most things have alternatives and depends on what you are creating.