Author Topic: How driving licenses work in your country?  (Read 4801 times)

conso1727

This is a world-wide community, and since I'm studying for my driving license I'm curious to learn how driving license work in other countries.
Here, in Italy, as all the other UE countries, I think, for the B license, the one who allows you to drive the most of the common cars, you have first to take the therory exam, compose of 40 true/false question. If there are less than 4 wrong, you pass and obtain the "pink sheet" which let you drive with the driving school car or with somebody who had a driving license for over 10 years for learning purposes.
After that you take the practise exam, on which you have to do some compulsory maneuvers (parking, braking depending on the siutation, starting the car on a slope etc) and a bit of driving in various environments (urban, not urban and highway).
One you pass the exam and get the drivng license it doesn't ends, though. For three years you are classified as "novice driver" and you still have limitations on the top speed you can reach, and the power of cars you can drive.

The driving licenses in Italy work with a point based system. You have 20 points and every infraction you lose some, depending on the gravity. When the points are gone, you have to do the exams again. You can gain them back by driving without infractions for some time, and requesting the return of the points.

I'm pretty curious to know how drivng licenses work in non-european countries, write about them!
« Last Edit: January 07, 2014, 07:39:58 PM by conso1727 »

Victor Cortez

I'm curious too. Being Italian myself and generally thinking very little of our system, I'd like to know if other countries do better.

Serenya