Author Topic: So Long!  (Read 21922 times)

chuckskyline

this is moot..

but not lead production.

My name is Joonas Laakso. I work as a producer at Bugbear. I've been here for a little over four years now. Making games is pretty sweet!

I blog at Dusty Gamer and you can find me on Twitter at @jlaakso.

In addition to making games, I write (currently working on a comic book and a scifi novel), play with miniatures (Blood Bowl!), play a little guitar and especially play roleplaying games (all of them, really). I'm very much involved in volunteer youth work, running a game development club in Helsinki and holding lectures and courses in schools. It's a great time to be into games.

so yeah.. Joonas was apart of bb for a long time.. and he left.

hande11

Thanks Jori for everything!

Guys don't forget, the fact that BB was willing to tackle both a total engine overhaul AND a total physics overhaul strongly suggests they're pretty confident they have the ability to do so. You don't just scrap what you already have if it's too risky ;) Also this isn't their first time to the rodeo :P

Fully agree. BB could have been taking the shortcut already earlier and just wrapped up the game calling it "ready" with current version of engine (it's already that good) adding only few tracks,  simple "campaign", couple of tweaks and pushing after that some DLC's to pay for (what did not make to finalized full game build). Knowing Bugbear has such a good track-record, respect and very potential (proven with very wide NCG/Wreckfest early access interest) future opportunities on sequels and spin-offs using same ROMU-engine (next time it's easier to re-utilize same ROMU-engine, no need to reinvent whole wheel again), it would be just stupid to scrap game completely on this phase and terminate all future business opportunities, right?