Author Topic: The Truck photo edit process.  (Read 1227 times)

Aerotactics

From the picture on the left, to the picture on the right, I'm going to explain every edit in sequence not only as a learning tool for someone else, but to help me in the future as well. I'm no artist, just a guy who has GIMP and can copy/paste.

1) The first thing I wanted to do was make the last vehicle slot appear to be in use. This was done by copying the "selected region" to the extra space at the end there. Afterwords I copied a new Muscle image 1 image over the original to hide the old selector. I made sure to keep the icons over the selector as well. The faded part of the selector was achieved by using a blend tool to create the blended region. Looking at it now, the colors don't match 100% but the effect was still there after all was said and done.

2) So I got the vehicle selected, now I had to merge the vehicle in. I first started with a photo of the truck on trackside that was kinda at the right angle. I took a large eraser to it, cutting off a lot of the picture, then went in with a smaller eraser to cut as close to the truck as possible without cutting into it. Finally I went in with a 2-pixel eraser for the finalized product, making sure that the windows were erased properly too. I did that all by mouse. Then I resized the image to  fit the scene, making sure it at least looked like it could fit there while also covering up the Muscle 1, which turned out to be really easy as the colors of the car stand out. The hard part was the shadows.