Author Topic: Curious error sometimes popping up  (Read 1686 times)

Janne Suur-Näkki

  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 1212
Thanks Ricky for the repro steps - just tested three times in a row but alas, didn't get the crash. What OS are you using?
INTEL i7-4790K @ 4.8GHZ || EKWB WATER COOLING || NVIDIA TITAN BLACK || GIGABYTE G1.SNIPER Z97 || NEXUS RX-8500 || 16GB CORSAIR VENGEANCE || 500GB SAMSUNG 850 EVO SSD || 4TB HDD || ASUS PROART PA279Q || ASUS PROART PA248Q || 3DCONNEXION SPACEPILOT PRO || NI KOMPLETE AUDIO 6 || WINDOWS 8.1 PRO

RickyBøbby

  • Posts: 379
Thanks Ricky for the repro steps - just tested three times in a row but alas, didn't get the crash. What OS are you using?

Damn it - sneaky bug. ...of course, forgot my specs...

Windows 7 Professional  |  Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601   |   Intel Core i7-3820 CPU @ 3.60GHz

...found a video where a guy has a race on 'central chaos' and after that on 'hybrid hassle' - crash happened just as on my system. 
https://youtu.be/rtqZu1_QZk8?t=8m25s  (video should start close to crash at 8:25 min)

@Daystar - yes, that combination crashed my game as well.

RickyBøbby

  • Posts: 379
IT WAS THE FREAKING BLIMP !

I removed the blimp from the track - voila, no crashes anymore.  :D

Maybe on Michigan Speedway it's the flying jets. - So... anything animated ?

I can now repro the crash with vanilla game tracks by first loading Stadium Derby, start it - quit, continue to garage. Start small figure 8 (basically the same map, but no blimp) start (wait for countdown to end), quit - continue : *CRASH*
EDIT: I also tired Gravel 1 and Speedway 1 as second track after Stadium Derby - both times *CRASH*.



« Last Edit: January 19, 2017, 03:07:32 PM by RickyBøbby »

Purple44

  • *
  • Posts: 6593
I just did a test using Win 10, did 2 laps, 23 AI and the Trackfest mod.

Central Chaos, then Mixed 4  no R6025 error

Central Chaos, then Hybrid Hassle  got R6025 error

Central Chaos, then Tarmac 1  got R6025 error

Went do the Central Chaos, then Mixed 4 again and saw when I went restart Wreckfest, game did a mod update. I went and check the dates and found that the Trackfest mod had been updated. ( I see in Ricky new post, the blimp was removed )

I redid all the tests above and no R6025 error now.

How come Mixed 4 survive not getting the R6025 error first time?

Now to test the Stadium Derby.
Flatout Joint, where the mods were.

i5 2500, 8GB, Nvidia 660 960, SB Recon, Win 10 or Win7 64bit, DFGT Wheel

RickyBøbby

  • Posts: 379
How come Mixed 4 survive not getting the R6025 error first time?

Now to test the Stadium Derby.

Maybe you didn't move the car enough after countdown on Mixed 4? or did you do a whole race?

So far I haven't found a track that did not crash after Stadium Derby.
Bad blimp, shame on you.

Purple44

  • *
  • Posts: 6593
How come Mixed 4 survive not getting the R6025 error first time?

Now to test the Stadium Derby.

Maybe you didn't move the car enough after countdown on Mixed 4? or did you do a whole race?

So far I haven't found a track that did not crash after Stadium Derby.
Bad blimp, shame on you.

I did a 2 lap race. When I did test second time on Mixed 4 I got the error. Still working on stadium derby test, I expanded my testing.
Flatout Joint, where the mods were.

i5 2500, 8GB, Nvidia 660 960, SB Recon, Win 10 or Win7 64bit, DFGT Wheel

Purple44

  • *
  • Posts: 6593
IT WAS THE FREAKING BLIMP !

EDIT: I also tired Gravel 1 and Speedway 1 as second track after Stadium Derby - both times *CRASH*.

Here my results of testing the Stadium Derby:

With just 1 AI:
Stadium Derby, then Tarmac 1  - no R6025 error

Stadium Derby, then Gravel 1  - no R6025 error

Stadium Derby, then Speedwayl 1  - no R6025 error

With 23 AI:
Stadium Derby, then Gravel 1  - game crashed, but no R6025 error

Stadium Derby, then Speedway 1  - got R6025 error

Stadium Derby, then Mixed 4  - got R6025 error

With 12 AI:
Stadium Derby, then Gravel 1  - got R6025 error

Stadium Derby, then Speedway 1  - got R6025 error

With 6 AI:

Stadium Derby, then Mixed 4  - got R6025 error

It does look like the blimp could be the problem.

Could that mean the animated spinners in the Cops and Robbers mod can cause the R6025 error?

Ohhh NO!  Cops & Robbers Arena, then Gravel 1  - got R6025 error  :o

Cops & Robbers Arena, then Tarmac 3 Playground  - no R6025 error

Cops & Robbers Arena, then Speedway 1  - no R6025 error

Cops & Robbers Arena, then Sandpit  - no R6025 error

Cops & Robbers Arena, then Tarmac 1  - no R6025 error

Cops & Robbers Arena, then Lawnmower Pit  - no R6025 error

Second time,  Cops & Robbers Arena, then Gravel 1  - no R6025 error

Hmmm, but after I close WF and start game again loading Cops and Robbers mod:

Cops & Robbers Arena, then Gravel 1  - got R6025 error

Restarted WF again:

Cops & Robbers Arena, then Tarmac 1  - got R6025 error

Restarted WF again:

Cops & Robbers Arena, then Inner Oval Pit  - no R6025 error

One last test from a restarted WF, this be 3 tracks I would pick while hosting Cops and Robbers:

Inner Oval Pit, then Cops & Robbers Arena, then Derby Figure 8  - got the R6025 error after Derby Figure 8 finish and headed back to the garage.


I hope my testing helps Bugbear figure out what triggering the R6025 error. Maybe something with the animation code?






« Last Edit: January 19, 2017, 05:24:23 PM by Purple44 »
Flatout Joint, where the mods were.

i5 2500, 8GB, Nvidia 660 960, SB Recon, Win 10 or Win7 64bit, DFGT Wheel

RickyBøbby

  • Posts: 379
Here my results of testing the Stadium Derby:

With just 1 AI:
Stadium Derby, then Tarmac 1  - no R6025 error
Stadium Derby, then Gravel 1  - no R6025 error
Stadium Derby, then Speedwayl 1  - no R6025 error

I tested the same track combinations of Stadium Derby, then Tarmac1, Gravel1 and Speedway1 and it crashed every time. (also with 1 AI, but I didn't do a whole race, just a few seconds for crossing the start/finish line.) always that error. Doesn't matter in my case whether there's AI involved or not.

Could you test that again by any chance? with restarted WF maybe?

My test with just 1 AI:
Stadium Derby, then Tarmac 1  - CRASH - R6025 error
Stadium Derby, then Gravel 1  - CRASH - R6025 error
Stadium Derby, then Speedway 1  - CRASH - R6025 error

All I know is that removing the blimp from the track, made the error go away (with Trackfest). Maybe that would work with Stadium Derby map, too.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2017, 06:49:14 PM by RickyBøbby »

The Very End

  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 1346
Hrmpft... crashes here but in no known pattern. Don't think it's just the animated objects, alltho it seems to be a part of it. I'd say vegetation might trigger it too.

RickyBøbby

  • Posts: 379
Don't think it's just the animated objects, ...
Why not?
Just tested Michigan Speedway, then Tarmac1 = *crash*
Michigan Speedway, then Gravel1 = *crash*
Michigan Speedway, then Speedbowl = *crash*

After that I removed the jets from Michigan Speedway .scne file, did the same tests = NO crashes anymore(!).
I'd say that's even more clues pointing towards animated objects, isn't it? Well, it's not the objects itself but some code that gets executed and triggers / does something weird or something like that.  ???
« Last Edit: January 19, 2017, 07:27:57 PM by RickyBøbby »

The Very End

  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 1346
:/ hrmpf... better hope they fix it, animated objects are fun :)
Nice finds tho.

Purple44

  • *
  • Posts: 6593
Could you test that again by any chance? with restarted WF maybe?



K, I did a retest and still got same result with 1 AI and restarting WF each time:

With just 1 AI:
Stadium Derby, then Tarmac 1  - no R6025 error

Stadium Derby, then Gravel 1  - no R6025 error

Stadium Derby, then Speedwayl 1  - no R6025 error


********************************

If it the animated code that causing the error, I sure hope Bugbear can figure out what causing it. We hosted the Cops and Robbers mod back in Aug 2016 and did not see the R6025 error.

First time I saw the R6025 error was in Oct:

I spoke to soon. I saw this R6025 error last night online at Space server when track got change to the new Mixed 3 - route 2 and crash my game.  But I was the only one in the server that crash.


This happen after this update:  Update 2016-10-14


CHANGELOG:

* Added a new work-in-progress track, Mixed 4.
* Added a banger racing variant of American 4.
* Added Route 2 and Route 2 Reverse for Mixed 3.
* Added new spectators to a few selected tracks.
* Tweaked keyboard controller (set Speed Sensitivity to ~85).
* Improved visual damage.

Was not the Oct Build the first Build to bring back spectators in the stands? Could this be where the problem lies Bugbear?
Flatout Joint, where the mods were.

i5 2500, 8GB, Nvidia 660 960, SB Recon, Win 10 or Win7 64bit, DFGT Wheel

RickyBøbby

  • Posts: 379
K, I did a retest and still got same result with 1 AI and restarting WF each time:
With just 1 AI:
Stadium Derby, then Tarmac 1  - no R6025 error
Stadium Derby, then Gravel 1  - no R6025 error
Stadium Derby, then Speedwayl 1  - no R6025 error

CHANGELOG:
* Added new spectators to a few selected tracks.
Was not the Oct Build the first Build to bring back spectators in the stands? Could this be where the problem lies Bugbear?


Thanks, Purple. It's kind of confusing, that you don't get the error with one AI, but I do. Something OS related? Win7 <-> Win10 ?

The spectators came to my mind, too. Especially the animated ones. Maybe it's a combination of the animated spectators together with an animated object - some process doesn't shut down(?)/unload(?) correctly? (don't know the correct term)... but if this error popped up before the animated spectators were introduced, it doesn't add up anymore.

.....

Maybe all BugBear can do now is ... go into hardcore hacking mode, hack time and kill that nasty bug ;)


or call Liam Neeson, maybe he could find and kill that bastard.


* Sorry for this... not helpful. *


I'd be interested, if BugBear is able to reproduce the error by now.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2017, 01:14:24 PM by RickyBøbby »

Janne Suur-Näkki

  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 1212
Thanks a lot for your combined efforts guys, got a 100% repro now so we're investigating. Will keep you in the loop.
INTEL i7-4790K @ 4.8GHZ || EKWB WATER COOLING || NVIDIA TITAN BLACK || GIGABYTE G1.SNIPER Z97 || NEXUS RX-8500 || 16GB CORSAIR VENGEANCE || 500GB SAMSUNG 850 EVO SSD || 4TB HDD || ASUS PROART PA279Q || ASUS PROART PA248Q || 3DCONNEXION SPACEPILOT PRO || NI KOMPLETE AUDIO 6 || WINDOWS 8.1 PRO