Author Topic: WIP download page for the Figure 8 track pack  (Read 9220 times)

Purple44

  • *
  • Posts: 8304
Got new Gravel Fig8 track done yesterday. This was a track idea I got from Zeb, using the inside of Gravel track for a fig8 track. I was working on this track placing objects and had stop when Janne warn there be issues with custom tracks running on the June Build. So I held off finishing this track and took a break from track making in June.

This is an off road figure 8 track with bumps. :D



There 5 crossings.



There are some arrows to help point the way.
Flatout Joint, where the mods were.

i5 2500 i7 8700, 16GB, Nvidia 660 960 1060 6GB, Win 10 64bit, DFGT Wheel

Purple44

  • *
  • Posts: 8304
Got Figure 8 Track Pack uploaded to Steam Workshop today, for you guys to tryout - http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=1183229009

This will be one the mods for the next Saturday Night Mods night, Nov 11. :)

Here video of latest fig8 track addition using the old Tarmac 1 track:




Here the next figure 8 track I want do and get done before Sat Nov 11, is a fig8 track using End's Nevada Freight Depot track with moving trains:   :D   A fig8 track using End's trains?


« Last Edit: October 31, 2017, 11:39:40 PM by Purple44 »
Flatout Joint, where the mods were.

i5 2500 i7 8700, 16GB, Nvidia 660 960 1060 6GB, Win 10 64bit, DFGT Wheel

Purple44

  • *
  • Posts: 8304
Tonight I got use some new objects from End's The Very AssetPack. Here a couple of pics:



Flatout Joint, where the mods were.

i5 2500 i7 8700, 16GB, Nvidia 660 960 1060 6GB, Win 10 64bit, DFGT Wheel

Purple44

  • *
  • Posts: 8304
In testing out the Nevada Depot Fig8 track, I ended up taking a ride on a flat rail car.  :o



Be warned, you going to want soft or standard suspension to get over the railroad tracks. With stiff suspension ( car low to the ground ), my car was getting stuck trying to cross the tracks.
Flatout Joint, where the mods were.

i5 2500 i7 8700, 16GB, Nvidia 660 960 1060 6GB, Win 10 64bit, DFGT Wheel

Purple44

  • *
  • Posts: 8304
Here a look of the layout of the Nevada Depot Fig8 track. Track to big to take a pic from above, so here a visualizer pic:



There 1 loop hairpin you can take from the right or from the left. And two suicide sections ( 2 way traffic ).

In one test race with 23 AI, only 3 AI completed 2 whole laps. The trains are tough on the AI, they don't brake for trains! Can end up half way down the track!  :o
Flatout Joint, where the mods were.

i5 2500 i7 8700, 16GB, Nvidia 660 960 1060 6GB, Win 10 64bit, DFGT Wheel

Purple44

  • *
  • Posts: 8304
Ran into a couple of bugs trying to finish up the Nevada Depot Fig8 track. After getting the AI sectors and checkpoints done, I started loading 23 AI and testing the track and was surprise to see my car was being wrecked before I was done with first lap!  :o

Posting conversation I had with Devils Shadow to save me some typing:

[ ASSASSIN ] Devils Shadow #13A: testing? what mods needed?
Purple44: hi testing a bug with the nevada depot track, to many cars, can not surive first lap, just survie with 6 cars, now try 9, 12 cars I did not surive first lap
Purple44: but this might be a bug game wide maybe
Purple44: does this happen on other tracks? but not many tracks with a lot jump landings like thios track
[ ASSASSIN ] Devils Shadow #13A: on the mod cars?
Purple44: just using stock cars, had done most testing with just 1 car, now got AI sectors done, been testing with 24 cars and all a sudden last night I can't finiish first lap!!
[ ASSASSIN ] Devils Shadow #13A: hmmm
Purple44: 0 cars made a 1 1\3 laps :( with my custom damage file, now test stock see if see same problem
[ ASSASSIN ] Devils Shadow #13A: wow
Purple44: stock damage file, with 3 players, no bug going on, car lasted 2 2\3 laps. which expected with stock damage file, cars not tough enough. with 9 cars, car was wrecked in less than a lap. So I thinking either it a bug with End's track some how, but why don't bug happen with 6 or less cars? or there a game bug we have not notice yet, since WF don't have extreme tracks like my track?
Purple44: will have see if I make a damge file that make cars almost indestucable, see if that get me past this bug


After a bunch of testing and narrowing the problem to my Nevada Depot Fig8 track ( other tracks were fine ), I ended up deleting End's moving ramp objects and problem with damage file and 9-24 cars went away.



Now have End's speed bumps replacing the moving ramps.

I don't know why the moving ramp object was causing problems.



After figuring out that bug, I notice another bug, I was not triggering the red circle any more when cheating a checkpoint as I check my checkpoints! Red circle goes away after I got car back on the track route. I found out my last checkpoint was causing the problem. Deleted last checkpoint and red circle would work normal again.

After studying my visualizer pic, I notice last checkpoint was in the last AI sector. I move checkpoint to different AI sector and problem solved. :)





Like to thank End for the yellow arrow object.  :D  I think the yellow arrows will help out a lot on keeping the guys going the right way.  :D




I hope to have an update to the Fig8 Pack sometime Friday. Give you guys a chance test the Nevada Depot Fig8 track and find where I put them 4 gas bottle rockets before Saturday Night Mods night get here.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2017, 04:34:00 PM by Purple44 »
Flatout Joint, where the mods were.

i5 2500 i7 8700, 16GB, Nvidia 660 960 1060 6GB, Win 10 64bit, DFGT Wheel

Purple44

  • *
  • Posts: 8304
Here video of the Nevada Depot Fig8 track. Give you an idea how the track goes. I did have a bug recording video last night. When I had 23 AI, the 2 trains ran fast. I cut AI down to 7 and then the trains run at normal speed. Today with a fresh boot of computer, trains ran normal speed with 23 AI. Guess computer been running to long last night, along with Bagedit.



Trains and railroad tracks, not a good mix for AI. I think AI like use stiff suspension, so can have trouble getting over railroad tracks. And AI don't believe in braking for trains!!  :P

I did use the AI race line to steer the AI to use the ramps to help get over the tracks and jump the trains.


Also getting ready to update Figure 8 Track Pack - P44 mod tonight with the addition of the Nevada Depot Fig8 track and End's Warehouse Derby from the The Very TrackPack.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2017, 04:07:07 AM by Purple44 »
Flatout Joint, where the mods were.

i5 2500 i7 8700, 16GB, Nvidia 660 960 1060 6GB, Win 10 64bit, DFGT Wheel

Purple44

  • *
  • Posts: 8304
Got do some testing online with Royce, mutley, Trabb and swan_electro. Nevada Depot Fig8 work fine online, except don't think the trains were in sync with all players, Got reports of players getting hit with invisible train.  :o

Move on to trying out the other tracks. After crashing my game for 4th time, I called it quits. Not sure if it was the mod or my computer needed rebooting or both. 3 the crashes were in middle of a race, one was on a track change in the lobby.
Flatout Joint, where the mods were.

i5 2500 i7 8700, 16GB, Nvidia 660 960 1060 6GB, Win 10 64bit, DFGT Wheel

Purple44

  • *
  • Posts: 8304
Going try this week and see if I can find out why some the tracks in the fig 8 mod are so unstable, crashing the game.


I did not get to all the fig 8 track ideas that got posted, will try get some more done next year. Next project, need to get the Cops and Robbers mod fixed for the New Years Days 2018 event.

But do have a new idea for the Nevada Depot track:







I'm thinking of removing most objects, but keep the trains and tracks. The suicide warehouse and warehouse at far end of track. Put some ramps down to jump the tracks when crossing, just need worry about getting hit by a train.

Flatout Joint, where the mods were.

i5 2500 i7 8700, 16GB, Nvidia 660 960 1060 6GB, Win 10 64bit, DFGT Wheel

Purple44

  • *
  • Posts: 8304
I updated fig8 mod with some bug fixes today and added a train crossing sign from Zeb and some cool weather maps from Daystar.   :D


Change notes:

1. Fix bugs that causes tracks Oval 1 long Figure 8 and Figure 8 Derby Ramp Jump to crash my host when I go to switch to one these tracks in the online menu.

Go here for the details about fixes:  Why 2 of my Fig8 tracks crash online when switching to them?

2. Added billboard train crossing sign to the Nevada Depot track. Thanks Zeb for new sign. :)

3. Added some of Daystar cool weather maps. :)

Colorado
French Alpes
Hensler Mountains
Hot Desert
Mountains
Pink Sunset
Rockland
Star Gaze
UK Fog
Flatout Joint, where the mods were.

i5 2500 i7 8700, 16GB, Nvidia 660 960 1060 6GB, Win 10 64bit, DFGT Wheel

Purple44

  • *
  • Posts: 8304
I'm back to working on the Fig8 track pack now. Was doing some testing of the new update for the Fig8 pack online with Zeb the other night and he suggested I do another track using the the big jump in the Figure 8 Derby Ramp Jump:



And I went through and reread my fig8 posts and got thinking this track idea would work good with the big ramp from Stuntfest:




So here what my new Fig8 3Jump Ramps track looking like with the objects place:

( right click > View Image to see full size pic )



I kept the Big ramp and buses from Figure 8 Derby Ramp Jump and built track out from that spot.

I'm hoping if I get the distance right between the jump ramps, and if 3 cars hit the ramps at the right time, they will meet up in a mid air, 3 way collision.  :D

But with the different speeds and weights of the cars, I don't think there a sweet spot that would work in all situations.


Now I get try my hand at making my first track that uses Alt routes. Good thing End did a tut.  :)
Flatout Joint, where the mods were.

i5 2500 i7 8700, 16GB, Nvidia 660 960 1060 6GB, Win 10 64bit, DFGT Wheel

Purple44

  • *
  • Posts: 8304
Success, was able to get alt route working in my new 3 Jump Ramps Fig 8 track and the laps count. :) Here couple of pics to show how they look:



( right click> View Image and then click pic to get full size pic )


The ai route visualizer tool show alt route checkpoints, but not alt route AI sectors. So I had make copy of my track scne file and delete the main ai sector so there was only 1 ai sector section in Bagedit.



Then I was able make the alt route ai route sectors with the help of visualizer tool and the in-game track tool. When I got the alt route sectors done, then I was able to add this 2nd ai sector section back into my main track file. Added some alt rout checkpoints and track loaded. :)

Big thanks to End for doing the Wreckfest track tutorial 06 - alternative paths thread or I would never figured out how to do Alt routes.  :D



End or Janne, I have a question about alt route raceline. How you go about adjusting raceline for the alt route? In game, the in-game tool only lets me tweak the main raceline. Is there a key that will let me jump to the alt route raceline?

Here some video of new track. I found the Roadcutter getting the longest jumps. But Roadcutter like to get stuck in track map more often than the other cars I tried. Could this be because of the extra visual parts? Like the tires?




Zeb ask, where the mine field? So I will do a 2nd version with a few gas bottles to trigger.  :o
« Last Edit: March 30, 2018, 11:36:45 PM by Purple44 »
Flatout Joint, where the mods were.

i5 2500 i7 8700, 16GB, Nvidia 660 960 1060 6GB, Win 10 64bit, DFGT Wheel

The Very End

  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 2404
Hey!

The alt route toggle button is U I think :)

Purple44

  • *
  • Posts: 8304
New fig8 track on hold now. :(

This week I was going through and making sure all the tracks in the Fig8 track pack were loading. Now that the Very TrackPack been fix again by End, the Nevada Depot fig8 track working again. :)

I was down to my new 3 Jump Ramps Fig 8 track and track locks up in a few seconds of being loaded! :(



This new track was working fine before latest Build release. So I'm thinking it an object causing the problem. So I start deleting objects from the track file that load my objects, I narrow it down to a half cylinder object was crashing the track.



After deleting the half cylinder object, track loads the first time, but lock up again when I try it again from the menu.  :( So I do some more hunting and delete a blue barrier. Track loads again, but crash on second try. I end up deleting another blue barrier, crashes on second try, then delete a full cylinder, track loads, but crashes on second try.  :(

At this point I give up on deleting objects, at this rate I was going lose a third my track. And why would track load first try, then crash on second try?

In pic above, I did move barrier to block player from cheating track. But when I place barrier where the half cylinder object was, track would not load. But when I move it a bit to the right, track would run first time, then crash on second try.

Then I got thinking, maybe this spot on the Tarmac 2 track was causing track to crash now. So I tweaked X and y coordinates so my track objects showed up on different part of track map. And found in my testing if objects were above the track map, track would load and not crash any more. But it I raise the track map to where objects were intersecting track, track would crash again.

Then I got idea, what if I use my large platform object to place my track objects on?



I ran into same problem. :(  If objects above platform, track load without crashing. If raise platform to where objects intersect, track crashes!

I'm thinking it the Stuntfest objects causing the problem. But I got 2 other fig 8 tracks that using the same Stuntfest objects on my Tarmac 2 track map and they still load without crashing.



So for now the 3 Jump Ramps Fig 8 track is on hold. Maybe I get lucky and next Build release, track work again. Or I may have wait until Bugbear releases a new updated Stuntfest with objects that work without issue with Wreckfest.


Also I think I will hold off doing an extreme fig 8 track with alt routes that can be blocked, land sharks and explosions until we see final release.

I will try and see if I can turn the Derby Stadium fig 8 track into this double fig8 track:



Will have 3 jumps and a suicide tunnel to a 2 way round about:





If I can clear the objects out of the way.  :P
Flatout Joint, where the mods were.

i5 2500 i7 8700, 16GB, Nvidia 660 960 1060 6GB, Win 10 64bit, DFGT Wheel

Purple44

  • *
  • Posts: 8304
Got a little done today. The tunnel turnout to be all one object. So I had make my own tunnel:



I decide to put the round about off to the side so you coming into it blind. Not seeing the other guy coming, but he not going see you either!  :o

Flatout Joint, where the mods were.

i5 2500 i7 8700, 16GB, Nvidia 660 960 1060 6GB, Win 10 64bit, DFGT Wheel